Personal / Reflections

The privilege of solitude

I prize the privilege of being alone. ~ Carl R. Rogers

So… I traveled alone or in my own company. It wasn’t the first time, but it was the first one I got to analyze the outcome I got from it.

It is not new to me that I love solitude and I need a lot of time on my own. I am a bit of a loner. In fact, I used to get stressed when I didn’t get my fix of silence and isolation. However, I have never wondered if it was positive or not, or what I took out from it, I assumed I was an unsociable weirdo. This last time I questioned it, which is something I’m doing very often lately.

In solitude the mind gains strength and learns to lean upon itself. ~ Laurence Sterne

Being alone, I got to think a lot. Answer and reply were coming from me since I was the only one in the room. The doubts were solved by myself and my inner voice was the only one that soothe my fears. Relying only on oneself gives that feeling of power, that you are more than enough to bring happiness and wholeness to your life.

Being solitary is being alone well, being alone luxuriously, immersed in doings of your own choice, aware of the fullness of your won presence rather than of the absence of others. Because solitude is an achievement. ~ Alice Koller

Is the enjoyment of this time for myself what makes it so worth it. Time to go to a coffee shop, relish my chai and read a book, or to seat on the grass while contemplating the wonderful views. This are the kind of treats that make my day and I love to do them alone, savoring the time.

Without great solitude no serious work is possible. ~ Pablo Picasso

I was taking a shower in a nice hostel in Ennis, when I realized that these few days traveling were the most productive of the last few months. Even though I was spending time wandering around the cities and hours in buses and trains, I was following a strict schedule. Up early, two or three hours of morning work, then off to do some tourism, lunch / dinner, some exercise (which I did every single day without exception, unthinkable before), and the most fruitful part of the day: the three hours before bed time. I was getting things done, and doing lots of things. I was feeling my time was paying off.

“If you make friends with yourself you will never be alone.” ~Maxwell Maltz

And a final realization: only when you are comfortable being alone, you are capable of being comfortable with others.

4 thoughts on “The privilege of solitude

  1. Like you, I enjoy being alone and if I don’t have regular helpings of solitute I feel undernourished. There are people who don’t get this, people who can’t be alone or entertain themselves, and that’s fine, but give me my space!

    • Glad you feel identified. Here is something I read yesterday and I fully agree with: “The solitude allows one to be fully present in company”.

      Thanks for reading Terry 🙂

Leave a Reply

