Personal

Transition

Right now, I am in an “in between” stage both in my personal life and in my career. I have set up some goals for my future and started working on them but I’m not seeing the fruits yet.

The goals

As I said, the transition goes in two aspects. One, the most important, is related to my inner self and my attitude towards life. The other one is more tangible, as the change is to become self employed and lead my career to a success with it. The last goal is still in the early stages.

I have always been teaching in different academies and schools of languages, suffering from timetables with scattered classes from the early morning until the evening, without the possibility of doing other things that work at the school and prepare the classes at home. I love my profession, but I want more things in life that just work. That’s why I decided to work for myself and plan my working hours. Sounds easy, doesn’t it? Well, it’s not, since all my students came always from an acknowledge institution. Now, I still have to figure out how to make a name for myself.

So, the business is up, but not running. Am I stressed, or having thoughts of quitting? Nope, none.

I’d lie if I said I am not worried. Yes, I am, but with this positive kind of worry that keeps you active, researching about the new  environment and looking for solutions.

And here is where the fruits of the first goal shows up.

I used to get very anxious when I had to go through a change in my career. Since I finished college until last year, the only thing that stressed me was not find a teaching job, or work in general, Not being able to live by my own means. That worried me a lot, to the point of getting extremely anxious. Every single time I left a job, it was mainly for a change of residence. I wasn’t able to quit a job, whatever it was, for fear of not finding another one.

Taking life by the horns and embracing the uncertainty

Until last May. I quit a job that I hated without having anything else. It was scary, but deep inside I knew it was the right thing to do. Since then, I am in this in between phase. I am not really making much money, but I am certain that I will succeed eventually, if I keep learning and working.

Now my fear of uncertainty has gone. I am much more relaxed in my transitional phase, I know that if I work I’ll succeed and if don’t succeed that will mean I’m not doing enough, so I’ll have to work harder. As simple as that.

At this point, with all this changes in my life, I really believe I have the power to take myself to the next step, to take the leads of my life. Knowing that, I just accept the present uncertainty.

Who knows what will come after this?

I do. I know that my goal will come, with patience, hard work and a positive attitude throughout this transitional phase. And in the meantime, I am only embracing the path, knowing it won’t last forever.

4 thoughts on “Transition

  1. I can relate to this so much. I feel I’m still in that transition period, too, and I’m also at peace with the uncertainty and positive that it will all turn out well if I keep working.

    And I’m confident that the same is true for you 🙂

  2. I am also in a transition phase. I’m turning 30 soon and that scares me because I feel like I should have certain things figured out by now. So I can relate to your fears, and it sounds like you are staying positive which is important.

    • I understand what you mean, the society tells us that we have to have certain things by when you turn 30 and if you don’t, you feel you have fail. The good thing is that it doesn’t matter if you turn 20, 30 or 40, is never too late to do what you want to do when you forget about what society expects from you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

