Personal

Being there

As I was coming back home from visiting my granny I  started feeling really pleased.

All started with the fresh wind after quite a warm day. Then the sun made its appearance on stage, going down and hiding behind the buildings on the horizon, started casting an special light on the streets. Then the music. The perfect sound track, the first chords of Souther Creek started sounding lifting my heart and soul.

A smile came up on my face without even noticing.

There is always a quest of something. There is always something to look for, to want. There is always this necessity of moving towards something. However, today, at that very moment, I felt there wasn’t anything else I could want for. I was full. The outside and the inside was perfect. Everything converged and I couldn’t but acknowledge the wholeness of the moment.

Sometimes one loses perspective by looking at some point in the future, when the present is already good enough or even better than that.

“All that is important is this one moment in movement. Make the moment important, vital, and worth living. Do not let it slip away unnoticed and unused.” ― Martha Graham

For over a year now I’ve been looking to achieve something, a point of perfection in different aspects of my life. Being constantly looking expectantly at the future somehow prevented me from realizing how perfect my life is at this point in time. When I take a minute to think about my present instead of longing for a better future, I see the success in my vital project that makes me feel fulfilled and happy. I am already there.

“You must live in the present, launch yourself on every wave, find your eternity in each moment. Fools stand on their island of opportunities and look toward another land. There is no other land; there is no other life but this.”― Henry David Thoreau

Whatever comes tomorrow, either good or bad, won’t take out the perfection of today, whatever comes tomorrow will be extra. My mind and my fulfilled heart are no were else today and I feel so alive that I just want to enjoy my love story with my present. See you tomorrow! ;)

2 thoughts on “Being there

  1. some great lessons here Maria – enjoy each day for what it is. live in the present:) thanks for the reminder. trying to live more like this everyday instead of being held back by the past or worried about the future:)

    • It’s amazing how a difference can make living in present. Let’s keep living in the present! :D Thanks for reading and commenting, Vishnu! :)

Leave a Reply

